Having worked with Navision, NAV and now BC for many years, one of the things that crops up time and again is how easy it is for users to accidentally change data when viewing pages in the system. Customer names, item descriptions, prices, posting groups and virtually all fields are all easily edited or deleted and can cause anything from a minor nuisance to an accounting nightmare.
Since the option is available to switch to read-only mode in almost all pages in BC, please could you make available an option to force users to open in read-only by default when entering an existing record and have them click the edit button only when they want to make changes? Users should enter the card in edit mode when creating a new record. It's 2023 and about time we had some protection for our data.

Business Central Team (administrator)
Thank you for this suggestion! Currently this is not on our roadmap. We are tracking this idea and if it gathers more votes and comments we will consider it in the future. Best regards, Business Central Team